New London Congestion Charge exemption rules – Toyota

"london congestion charge Toyota Aygo"

london congestion charge Toyota Aygo

The countdown has started: motorists wanting to maximise charge-free access to central London have just 64 days to register a low emissions Toyota or Lexus, ahead of new rules coming into force.

Time may be tight, but there’s a great range of 24 models to choose from in the Toyota and Lexus line-up, ranging from budget-friendly, ultra-compact city cars to the luxury of Lexus’s CT200h full hybrid and the seven-seat Prius+ MPV.

The new London Congestion Charge rules have brought the qualifying CO2 emissions figure down to 75g/km. But owners can still register a new or existing vehicle that qualifies under the previous 100g/km limit up to 28 June. Their exemption will continue for a three-year transition period, ending on 24 June 2016.

Toyota’s remarkable Prius Plug-in, with its best-of-both-worlds full hybrid system’s petrol engine and rechargeable lithium-ion battery, will cruise on unimpeded (and silently) through the centre of London, as it will still be charge-exempt thanks to its 49g/km CO2 rating.

These are the current Toyota and Lexus vehicles that qualify for congestion charge exemption under the current criteria:

Toyota Aygo: Aygo, Aygo +, Aygo Fire and Aygo Ice
Toyota iQ: iQ, iQ2, iQ3 models with 1.0-litre VVT-I petrol engine
Toyota Yaris: Yaris Hybrid T4 and T Spirit
Toyota Auris: Auris Hybrid Icon and Excel; Auris Active 1.4-litre D-4D manual
Toyota Prius: Prius T3, T4 and T Spirit
Toyota Prius + : Prius+ T4 and T Spirit
Toyota Prius Plug-in Hybrid
Lexus CT 200h
: CT 200hS, SE, Luxury, Advance, F Sport and Premier